Interviewing process

As schoolwork buries me up to my head, I am very thankful this week is fall break. Senior year has brought challenges, and determining what I will be doing post-gradation is a major challenge most of my friends and I are facing.  If I have any piece to offer to my fellow peers it is this: keep an open mind and stay positive.

While all of us are all talented and exceptional potential employees, each of us have different career paths.  The hardest part for students my age is determining how we stand out from our peers. Each of us has a different previous work experience, skills, activities, and other criteria that contribute to the hiring process.

With that said, it is understandable that just as employers are grading and critiquing us, we are trying to find our perfect jobs too. Employers look for people who will fit in well within their culture. Keep in mind that your perfect job may not be one that you envisioned or may not even be created yet. I am a true believe that everything happens for a reason. In any case, this is a good opportunity to remain positive.  I’d like to present you all with a quote from National Treasure.

Thomas Edison tried and failed nearly 2,000 times before he created a filament for the light bulb. When asked Edison said, “I didn’t fail, I found out 2,000 ways how not to make a light bulb.” He only needed one way to make it work.

This quote is similar to the job process, you can go through maybe 20 or more interviews, but you only need that one to get you a job.

The best that succeed are those who never give up.

Leave a comment